Journey of a World Citizen

OCartistoftheyear, painting

dsc_0396

48×48, Ink

This piece is an illustration of the different places I have been and the interactions I have experienced, whether in Chicago, Hong Kong, Seoul, or Los Angeles. This experience made me realize that art does not disengage from society; instead it intimately encompasses real life. To explore this concept, I created a piece that I’d like to think of as an experimental journey. Carefully painting each facial detail was symbolic of the relationships I have formed with different people around the world and their lasting impressions in my life. The uneven, clustered organization of faces explores the idea of a culturally integrated world and our unique, sometimes disparate connections with each other.

Leave a Reply

